CBC Crowns a New Ladies Champion for 2023

The thrilling conclusion of the Northerns Squash League set the stage for an exhilarating showdown at CBC’s Club Champs event for 2023. As CBC members laced up their shoes and brandished their squash rackets for one last time, anticipated filled the aired for a spectacle of talent and competition. This year’s event featured a fierce ladies, division, three intense men’s divisions, and a dynamic mixed doubles draw, bringing together a diverse array of ages and strengths in spirited competition.

In the strongly contented Men’s C Section, the spotlight shone on Derick Alberts, one of CBC’s newest members, who dominated his pool, securing a clean sweep and claiming the title. With seasoned expertise, Derick swiftly dispatched opponents, facing his toughest challenge against Norman Davis, whom he defeated 3-0.

The Men’s B Section unfolded with unexpected twists from the outset, as early injuries befell some of the favourites in the opening rounds. The final class witnessed Juandre Biccard taking on the determined runner of Kgosi Khiba. Juandre emerged victorious in three straight games, showcasing a masterclass in expanding the court strategically before launching precise attacks in the front, concluding in thrilling, hard-fought rallies.

A highlight of the night unfolded in the much-anticipated showdown in the Men’s A Section between top seeds Kelvin Ndhlovu and Kundanji Kalengo. Having both won the title numerous of times in the past, a 32-minute humdinger of a game, saw Kundanji display unmatched patience and fitness, overcoming Kelvin’s strong start to secure a victory and defend his title for another year.

The Ladies Section witnessed a crowning moment as Megan Shannon, CBC’s Player of the Year, emerged as the new champion for 2023. Eager to claim the title after a narrow loss last year, Megan faced an early setback as her opponent, Demi Snyman, took the first game 11-9. Undeterred, Megan showcased resilience and composure, winning the next three games to secure her maiden Club Champs title.

The Doubles category brought a refreshing twist this year, featuring blind and mismatched pairings for truly unique games. The experiment proved a massive success, providing beginner players with the opportunity to team up with experienced members. The finals featured Kundanji Kalengo and Taylan Mornet facing off against Sean White and Derick Alberts. In a display of newly founded teamwork and skill, Kundanji and Taylan emerged victorious in a closely contested match.

A heartfelt thank you goes out to all the players who participated in the Club Champs event, as well as the enthusiastic spectators who cheered them on. With over 60 members participating, this event continues to grow each year. Your passion and energy made this event a resounding success, and we can’t wait to see you again next for another round of thrilling competition!

Mens A Section Finals 2023
Doubles Section Finals
Mens B Section Winners

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved.